Lincoln County, TN 1870 Districts and Subdivisions



    HomeLCT Home
    1850 Main Page1850 Main Page
    BirthsCalc Birth Dates
    CodesKey to Codes
    ChurchesLCT churches

    List ManagerContact Us



The following taken from a post by Julia Molitz to the TNLINCOL Digest, Vol 2, Issue 29 [Jan 2007] in an attempt to equate the 1870 map to the 1850 distric boundaries.

"As far as I know there is no map for 1850 with the subdivisions.

On the 1850 census there are these district's and subdivisions, from my research I believe the descriptions are close, please correct me if I am wrong.

Subdivision 1: west and south west of the county and a little bit of the north west of the county.

Subdivision 2: North east, east and south east of the county.

Districts, 8, 9, 10 and 11 about the same as on the below map.

The 1870 LCT map is after the bit of the county was taken as part of Moore CO., TN. So if you have someone that lived in Sub 2 on the north east & some of the east side of Lincoln CO., TN in 1850 by 1871 they may have gone over to Moore CO., TN."

The web page Chestnut Ridge Community provides other maps for your review.

If you have any corrections to any information presented on this page, please send an email to the List Manager.  Please place '1870 LCT Map Correction' in subject for faster response. It is IMPORTANT to include LCT somewhere in your email as I have other area genealogies on the web and am sometimes confused when I receive an email as to which locality the person is talking about. If possible, send a scan of a primary source document such as a marriage certificate supporting the changes you wish to have made.

Thank you, Diane Casey

Last changed February 2007.